Tangier Gallery and Journal


Kingdom of Morocco

Morocco gained independence from France ended in 1956 and the internationalized city of Tangier was turned over to the new country that same year. Morocco virtually annexed Western Sahara during the late 1970s, but final resolution on the status of the territory remains unresolved. Gradual political reforms in the 1990s resulted in the establishment of a bicameral legislature in 1997.

The capital city is Rabat, Arabic (official), the official currency is the Moroccan Dirham, and French, other languages are spoken.

A population 30,120,000 live in 37 provinces (increasing in number all the time) within 446,300 sq km (172,316 sq miles).

Morocco has a primarily Mediterranean climate that becomes more extreme towards the interior. At 32 00 N, 05 00 W.

The northern coast and interior are mountainous with large areas of bordering plateaus, intermontane valleys, and rich coastal plains - the lowest point is Sebkha Tah -55 m and the highest is Jebel Toubkal 4,165 m.


For history and more, 

click below: