Gibraltar Slideshow


 Gibraltar is located near the southernmost tip of the Iberian Peninsula overlooking the Strait of Gibraltar. The capital is the city of Gibraltar and the territory shares a border with Spain to the north. Gibraltar has historically been an important base for the British Armed Forces and is the site of a Royal Navy base.

The name of the territory is derived from the Arabic name Jabal Tariq meaning "mountain of Tariq". It refers to the geological formation, the Rock of Gibraltar, and the Berber Umayyad general Tariq ibn-Ziyad, under the orders of Caliph Al-Walid I who led the initial incursion into Iberia in advance of the main Moorish force in 711. Earlier, it was known as Mons Calpe, one of the Pillars of Hercules. Today, Gibraltar is known colloquially as Gib or The Rock.

Gibraltar was ceded by Spain in perpetuity in 1713 under the Treaty of Utrecht though Spain requests its return, causing strain in Anglo-Spanish relations. The British Government is committed to respecting the wishes of the Gibraltarians, who strongly oppose the idea of annexation along with any proposal for shared sovereignty with Spain.

The official language is Enlish, but many residents speak Spanish as well as other languages from nearby countries. A population of 28,875 occupy 11,100 sq mi. The climate is Mediterranean with mild winters and warm summers.


history and more, 

click below: